THE ILL-FATED LIVES OF F. SCOTT FITZGERALD AND HIS WIFE ZELDA

The Beautiful and the Damned

A Deep Dive on F. Scott Fitzgerald — Part 1

Robin Liefeld 🐦‍⬛
10 min readFeb 27, 2024

--

F. Scott Fitzgerald, Public Domain

The victor belongs to the spoils.

~F. Scott Fitzgerald, “The Beautiful and Damned”

(This is Part 1 of the story of F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald. Read Part 2 here.)

I’m a hopeless romantic for profound prose. When I read anything written by F. Scott Fitzgerald, I practically swoon. I needed to learn more about him and how he ended up writing such delicious words. I was annoyed to learn that he lifted some of his most beautiful writing from his wife’s diaries! Here is my deep dive on him in case you are just as curious as I am:

F. Scott Fitzgerald, the epitome of a romantic dreamer, lived life like a character straight out of his own novels, captivating hearts and minds with his enchanting words and tumultuous love affairs.

Childhood and Teen Years

Francis Scott Key Fitzgerald was born on September 24, 1896, in St. Paul, Minnesota, USA. Named after his distant relative and the author of the U.S. national anthem, Fitzgerald was the only son of Edward Fitzgerald and Mary McQuillan.

--

--

Robin Liefeld 🐦‍⬛

Where Bravery and Art Collide. Artist, Writer, and Editor at Pearl Street Publication.